HC/HC Seminarians

themed image

What's new?


Please visit our Encyclicals link for past archived Encyclicals and Communications from our Holy Metropolis.




Brief History of the Metropolis of New Jersey Philoptochos



A historical overview of the origin of the Diocese to the Present Metropolis of New Jersey



The Diocese of New Jersey with His Excellency, Metropolitan Silas, as the spiritual leader became a reality in 1980 following the reorganization of the Greek Orthodox Church of North and South America under the spiritual leadership of His Eminence Archbishop Iakovos.

As was established, the New Jersey Diocese encompasses five states broken down into five regions: 
Southern Philadelphia and the Greater Delaware Valley

  • The State of New Jersey
  • The State of Delaware
  • The State of Maryland
  • The State of Virginia

In total, forty-five parishes constituted the newly-organized Diocese of New Jersey with the designated Cathedral of the Diocese of New Jersey to be the Church of Saint John the Theologian in Tenafly, New Jersey.

The New Jersey Philoptochos Board came into being on March 15th, 1980 during a conference held by District I at the Archdiocesan Cathedral of the Holy Trinity in New York City. Two new units came into existence; the Diocese of New York Philoptochos and the Diocese of New Jersey Philoptochos.

Under the direction of His Excellency, election of officers followed immediately and the first Diocese of New Jersey Philoptochos Board was formed.

The newly created Diocese Board of New Jersey was charged with the reorganization and the administrative direction of all Philoptochos Chapters within the five regions. The forty-two active chapters of the New Jersey Diocese had over 5 thousand members.

In April of 2003, His Eminence Metropolitan Evangelos was elected as Metropolitan of New Jersey. Under His guidance we have fifty-four parishes and forty-seven Philoptochos Chapters and now we are known as The Metropolis of New Jersey Philoptochos.